How it Started

Founded by Mayor Steve Skadron (City of Aspen), the Compact of Colorado Communities has been established to bring cities and counties together to stand together in taking constructive and practical climate action. The Compact will dynamically advance and expand upon city and county efforts to address climate change, resilience to extreme events and grow a clean energy economy throughout Colorado.

On May 19, elected officials from 27 Colorado cities and counties convened in Aspen, Colorado and signed a pledge to build their capacity to tackle climate change by forming the Compact of Colorado Communities.  Several more communities have already signed on since, and we expect additional local government leaders to join this Compact over the next few weeks.

Founding Signatories


Alamosa  •  Aspen  •  Avon  •  Basalt  •  Boulder  •  Breckenridge  •  Crested Butte  •  Denver
Durango  •  Eagle  •  Fort Collins  •  Fraser  •  Frisco  •  Glenwood Springs  •  Golden
Jackson (WY)  •  Lafayette  •  Manitou Springs  •  Minturn  •  Pueblo
Snowmass Village  •  Telluride  •  Vail  •  Westminster  •  Winter Park  •  Wray


Adams  •  Boulder  •  Denver  •  Eagle  •  Gunnison  •  Pitkin  •  Summit


Note: The above signatories pledged to present the Compact Charter/Agreement to appropriate governing bodies for approval.  Visit the member page to see signatories that have formally adopted the charter and/or executed the member agreement to date.